Daily Life · Review

The Vintage Craft Fair

I was asked recently if I’d like to attend an upcoming event – The Vintage Craft Fair – I jumped at the chance, as vintage and vintage-related events are, sadly, few and far between in Cumbria.  Cumbria, being Cumbria, and home to The Lake District, isn’t known for being the driest of places, so I was glad that when I woke up on Saturday morning the sun was shining in the sky, and it was relatively warm.

After running a few errands earlier in the morning, I made the short trip to Carlisle; knowing there’s plenty of space to move safely off the main road, I left setting my sat nav until I arrived in the city.  I’ve Googled (and ogled!) Warwick Hall but so far hadn’t had an excuse to take a trip – needless to say, I wasn’t disappointed with the surroundings.

House

Warwick Hall is a true-to-form English estate with a long, winding driveway; its’ very own river, lands aplenty, and stunning views – I only wish I’d taken my camera as I saw numerous opportunities.

But on to the real reason I was there – the fair.  The marquee was much larger than I expected, and was full – but not overly so – of many and varied traders from around the north of England and south of Scotland.

11070743_427679364074050_8676385917101461989_n 11077706_10153686413499112_2064454524_n 11082752_10153686413519112_1601252315_n

There were vintage cars, cake & sweet stalls; independent artists selling prints, greetings cards, and all sorts lovely little knick-nacks for your home or for gifts; there were sewists, and a lady with the most beautiful silk flower & brooch boquets I’ve ever seen; and a great selection of stalls selling vintage goods – from clothes & shoes to jewellery and ornaments; and – surprisingly – there were also alpacas (who apparently make good fox & badger deterrents).

10616017_427665274075459_1962878221195508342_n

A food van completed the line-up – it smelled wonderful, but I’d had lunch before I got there so didn’t try anything, and I spent a very enjoyable time looking at everything on offer, talking to some of the University of Cumbria students who’d set the fair up – and many of the traders too – and, of course, buying a few items.

It definitely was a great afternoon out, and one I hope to be able to repeat – though next time I’ll remember to take my camera with me so I can share the beautiful setting; I came home with a modest – but definitely unique – haul, including some homemade jams & vintage cufflinks for Mr LPU, a stunning vintage bracelet for myself, a fallow deer greeting card, and some deer & ladybug stickers

 

11051318_10153686413514112_213635425_n

I certainly congratulate the students who undertook such a task, thank the vendors who brough such winderful items for our perusal, and I would definitely like to see the fair continue – I would only hope that if it should continue, the fair is always as lucky with the weather as it was on Saturday.


All photos taken from The Vintage Craft Fair‘s Facebook page (which you should definitely ‘like’), excepting the photo of Warwick Hall, which was taken from Google via their website (check out their Facebook page here),  and the final photo of my little haul from the day.

2 thoughts on “The Vintage Craft Fair

Join the discussion!

