Lingerie · Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist Wednesday #3

The air really seems to have a chill in it this week, and I’m certainly beginning to notice one effect of less daylight on my clothing choices – shrugs and cardigans are becoming a daily necessity, rather than something to keep warm with in the early mornings.  With these, my thoughts are turning to stockings.  Now, as a lady and a pin up I wear stockings most of the time anyway – they’re cool when it’s hot, and warm when it’s not; but I like to wear thicker stockings in winter, and as I shared on Instagram a little while ago, I also like to wear patterned stockings or hold ups  when I’m wearing swing trousers and flat shoes to add a little ‘pop’ to my outfit.

So, without further hesitation, here’s some of the stockings & hold ups I’ve been lusting over while I plan my winter wardrobe, though I hope that as winter progresses I can find a little more choice – I still have a couple of pairs of Le Bourget stockings from a few years ago that get pulled out every now & again, but sadly I’ve not been able to find anything like them.

First up, is these beauties from French brand Love Me – the Rebecca Opaque Blouse Effect hold ups (€36).  60 denier stockings never looked so good, with a row of buttons rising up each leg to meet a collar around each thigh, these would look super-cute worn with a swing or circle skirt and a blouse in the office

 

 

Sticking with Love Me (pardon the pun), even cuter than the Rebecca hold ups, is the Lisa Opaque Corset Effect hold ups (€36).  These are just a little bit sassier than the Rebecca hold ups, and would look stunning worn with a wiggle skirt and a blouse in the office, but would look absolutely amazing on a night with a corset added to the same outfit.  They’re also a tad thicker, at 80 denier.

 

Next, I want to share something I’m sure you UK gals will appreciate: Pretty Polly’s “Allsorts” (£9.99) line of holdups – black stockings with a brightly coloured welt which you might just recognise from a certain brand of sweets!  Personally, the pink-welted hold up would be my choice, but I think the blue is more recognisable as coming from the popular sweet brand

 

 

Next up, I want to share something that would make a nice little secret…these 60 denier Fiore “Vilena” (£7.95) hold ups come in black and graphite, and while they might not show much under a circle or wiggle skirt, they’re pretty enough that I’d want to wear them every day regardless…

 

 

For something a little more plain, but fun nonetheless try the Fiore “Elite Ester” (£5.95) 40 denier microfibre hold ups, they might not be thick enough for winter, but they come in a great autumnal pallette

 

 

 

For those of us with a penchant for brighter colours, try the Nylonica range of 55 denier opaque stockings (£8.50), which come in both brighter and more subdued hues

 

 

 

Dita’s stockings
Bettie’s stockings

And now to go completely crazy: if money were no object I would rush to the Secrets in Lace shop and buy several pairs of both the Bettie Page Dot with Seam (£18.92) stockings and Dita’s Diamond Backseam (£41.14) stockings – they’re both beautiful, if a bit pricy, but would look perfect (and be safe!) peeking out from swing trousers.

 

What about you gals – I’d love to hear how do you deal with the cooler weather but still stay pin up in the comments below!

—-
Disclaimer: the companies mention in this post have not asked me to share their products with you I’ve written this wishlist simply for the fun of sharing new items with you.  All opinions expressed are mine and mine only.

One thought on “Wishlist Wednesday #3

Join the discussion!

