Clothes · Daily Life

Dressing Up a Vintage Dress

As I’ve previously said, vintage life in and around my hometown isn’t the greatest; so when I found out there was going to be not one but two separate vintage fairs within an hours drive of my hometown I suddenly became very excited!

The first was to be held by ‘Very Vintage Affairs‘, on one of the platforms on Carlisle railway station; thankfully being at the end of summer the weather graced us with sunlight and warmth, and as a result it was quite pleasant perusing the stalls.  It’s at this point that I must admit I was far too excited by the treasures in front of me to take any photos, I felt like the proverbial ‘kid in a candy store’, with the many stalls bursting with both vintage and handmade goodies, so you’ll just have to believe me when I say it was an amazing fair, which a friend & I spent a good hour or so at.

A couple of items came home with me, all of them from Nicola at Twisted Magpie: Mr LPU got a vintage flannel shirt/overshirt, and I got a nice, short-sleeved plain blue cotton dress for the oncoming chilly days at home; but my favourite item of the day just has to be this wonderful 1950’s homemade dress:

I absolutely adore this dress, it has nice, bold colours, a great pattern, cute little straps, and is as perfect for a summers’ outing as it is for dressing up for a more special occasion.  The fact that it’s almost a perfect fit is just the icing on the cake!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I found it easiest to keep accessories simple, a silver necklace, bracelet, and brooch, black court shoes, plus some hair flowers in complimentary colours makes for an uncomplicated and relaxed look for the daytime

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The back also has a nice little bit of detailing, in the form of some ties which help to hide the top of the zipper.

And with the addition of a simple shrug and a chiffon petticoat, it turns from a simple day dress into a cute cocktail number

And it’s still sophisticated without the shrug (perhaps even moreso) for those warmer or outdoor occasions.

Bonus shot: here’s me showing off the seam on my Berkshire ‘Duet’ stockings in ‘Touch of Gold’ as I change to shoes which are safer for traversing the ground between the little jetty and the paved path at this local lake; I love the way the seam runs down the foot, rather than across the toes – it’s so much more comfortable, and also a lot neater looking in shoes!

 

The second vintage fair I mentioned is to be held this Saturday, and is hosted by LouLou’s Vintage Fair in the ballroom of the Hallmark Hotel.  I’m a little bit more prepared this time and have a list, but I’m still just as excited to attend!

What about you, do you get to go to many vintage fairs?  What treasures have you found there?  Something handmade and a perfect fit, or perhaps the perfect accessory?  Do share!

—-

Dress: Twisted Magpie
Shrug: eBay (similar)
Necklace: River Island (similar, similar)
Roller bracelet: Rebellion Jewellery
Silvertone bracelet: can’t remember
Sunglasses: Marks & Spencer
Brooch: car boot sale (similar, but a lot more expensive!)
Stockings: vintage
Petticoat: Vivien of Holloway
Shoes: Clarks (similar)

5 thoughts on “Dressing Up a Vintage Dress

  1. Oh I love vintage fairs! My favourite treasure would be my fox fur shrug called ‘Garry’ which my Mum bought me when we attended the ‘Love Vintage’ fair a couple of years ago in Melbourne, Australia. I took my Mum as my assistant for the day whilst photographing the fair for a magazine, and of course, we couldn’t help ourselves and did a bit of shopping whilst we were there too! I had such a great day.

    Your dress is absolutely gorgeous by the way! I love the idea of the tie to conceal the zipper! I’m also a big fan of the petticoats from Vivien of Holloway. They are the only ones that I use in my studio now! Hope you have an amazing time at your next fair!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I take it that Garry still has his head & feet? Haha, I’m not so sure about *those* furs, I find them a bit creepy :-/ though they do look nice on other people. Shopping is a must, even at events one is more help than attendant 😉

      If I’m ever in your part of the world, I’ll definitely have to stop by your studio.

      Like

    1. Thank you for the compliments, Tahitia 🙂 I think I have a long way to go before I look as awesome as you in your FanExpo getup 😉
      The fair was great, and the one this weekend looks to be even bigger, being held in the ballroom of a local hotel – I’m so excited! But hopefully will remember photos!!

      Like

Join the discussion!

