Daily Life

Principles

I posted this quote on Facebook late last week: there comes a time in each person’s life, when the choice is to step up to the plate, or to admit to a lack of commitment to one’s principles.
– Jonathan Lockwood Huie

And it is so very true.  As I learn more and more about the pin up, vintage, burlesque, and retro communities I see, interact with, and meet a whole host of lovely people; but there is one thing that – because of the morals I’ve chosen to live by – continues to bother me; and that is that people disregard the ethics that are behind the products they use every day.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m not trying to make out that I’m some sort of saint – but I stick by my personal morals as much as possible.  Sometimes there’ll be something I really need to use and it’s not cruelty-free approved, but that’s few and far between, and it’s never for want of looking – I always look for and try anything with the leaping bunny on it first.  Mostly, the issue is that there isn’t an equivalent, and often that’s because many consumers don’t think about what their hard-earned money is supporting, and that’s fine – we all have different priorities; but I do think if more people stopped spending with companies that have different morals to themselves that the world could be a better place.

Whatever it is you believe, stick by it and support those who also believe it, but rather than disparaging the companies that don’t share your morals, simply stop supporting them – they’ll soon notice.

2 thoughts on “Principles

Join the discussion!

